Image

(Pictured Above: Viet Cong soldiers)

In my freshman year at Loyola University, as an employee of their Theatre Box Office, I was charged with guiding tours around the Mundelein Center for the Fine and Performing Arts during Open House Chicago, where people could freely wander the halls and learn about various architectural achievements throughout the city.  It wasn’t until the morning of this week’s session at Pritzker that I realized Open House Chicago was back, and with the number of people waiting to get in at the bottom of the Monroe Building, I knew I was back in the middle of it all again.

Luckily this time, tour guides were provided, so I was able to continue work on the Discovery Pages for the PML website.  As people would wander up through the third floor’s main stacks, my job was to give brief directions around the 3rd floor, including the “She’s a WOW: Women’s Service Organizations in WWII” exhibit at the end of the hall, and open the door to the main stacks with a button located under my desk.  That was the best part by far.

Once again, I was able to put the finishing touches on the research of my second topic, Trench Warfare in WWI, and begin looking into my next topic, the French Indochina War of 1946-1954.  Even though the only task I had left for the Trench Warfare page was to organize the summary, it was by far the longest piece of the process.  Even for a topic that specific, there is so much information, and so many different pieces in play that it seems like it’s all relevant, and omitting anything would be a disservice.  However, remembering the fact that A. The summary isn’t a college essay, and B. It is supposed to serve as a jumping-off point for patrons to investigate the library’s holdings, it made finishing that page easier.  The research being conducted here lets me build my base of knowledge, and pique people’s interest enough that they want to explore as much as I did.

