As it’s probably easy to tell, this blog is a little late.  And by little, I mean a lot.  As this semester is winding down, my class work seems to be just getting started.  Numerous tests, quizzes, essays, and projects are all rapidly approaching their due date, and I’m running left and right like a chicken with its head cut off trying to get it all done.  But the one constant throughout it all is my time at Pritzker, working diligently through my Discovery Pages and enjoying the calm the library provides.  Even if it means getting up at 8:00am, and riding the noisy train for 40 minutes, the breath of calm studying at the Pritzker Military Library is well worth it.

Regardless, last Saturday was my first true time spent as the sole intern at the 3rd Flood Circulation Desk.  I thought I would never get a chance to sit still, constantly being forced to check out books and find holdings in the stacks for patrons, with me hopelessly out of my element constantly calling my fellow Pritzker employees for help on simple tasks.  In the end of the day, that didn’t happen.  I did check out a book, but only one, and I was able to find that and the other books a particular patron wanted with relative ease.  The patron was especially happy I was able to find a narrative on a Luftewaffe Pilot with over 300 Allied aircraft kills.  All told, I was able to help anyone that came around, and still make considerable progress on my final Discovery Page concerning the French Indochina War.  I should be able to get it done during the session I’m currently in, and write about its success in the following blog post.  It’s telling for me of my need to ramp up my work ethic to match the work load I am faced with.  But with the weekly decompression session Pritzker provides, and the time I get to refocus on pure study tactics, I’m sure I’ll be able to get everything done.

(Pictured below: An accurate representation of my face when I realized I was one blog behind schedule)

Image

