It was a moment of great personal pride, but while collecting the ever-necessary Letters of Recommendation for college applications, one teacher wrote that I was a “Renaissance Man,” or a jack-of-all-trades.  Because of that, I’ve come to truly appreciate the people who devote themselves to a particular hobby or interest, and just thrive in it.  I feel, to a certain degree, these are the kind of people that come to Pritzker Military Library; those who know they have an extreme interest in military history, and know that Pritzker is the best place to find it.  

I’ve come to develop this “theory” of sorts while sitting at the information desk and observing the patrons that peruse the stacks at PML.  As I’ve stated numerous times in this blog, the one constant of working on Saturdays at the Pritzker Military Library is a lack of foot traffic.  It was just such a situation during my time there two weeks ago.  There are a fair number of people who walk in to see the PML for its cultural relevance, which is just as worthwhile.  Yet it’s those patrons who walk in looking for books concerning Explosive Ordinance usage in the Gulf War, or Swedish military practices that get me excited.  They know what they want, and obsess over it.  It’s this kind of dedication to certain topics, and history in general, that I want to foster through my time in college, and especially at the Pritzker Military Library.  In my endless pursuit to foster my professional skills, the personal drive to investigate certain topics is the one that has eluded me the longest.  However, being surrounded by Pritzker, and its patrons that all express an outward, profound love of history, it’s only a matter of time before I cultivate that drive too.

(Pictured below: various matchlock and flintlock rifles, an oddly-specific aspect of research that has piqued my interest).

 Image

